Solar SME, Inc. - Profile & Reviews

Primary Lines of Business

  • Installer

  • Energy Auditor

  • Roofer

Solar SME, Inc. - Profile & Reviews

Primary Lines of Business

  • Installer

  • Energy Auditor

  • Roofer

Additional Services Offered

Additional Services Offered
  • Installation
  • Financing
  • Roofing
  • Electrical Contracting

Why Work With Us

Why Work With Us

Solar SME, Inc is a nationwide Retailer/dealer of world-class solar solutions with industry-leading pricing. Our focus is the engineering of grid-tie packages, off-grid energy kits, backup applications. We have technical support professionals to help you take the hassle out of buying and installing your system. Our company takes on the challenge of helping independent minded people, create their own energy. With each package or kit, you get assigned a System Consultant, who will be a phone call away ready to provide you with after the sale polished technical advice on the design and execution of your installation. This is the benefit of having one person to call who immediately knows your system and coordinates all the activities related to your purchase. This personalized advice is one of the services that receives the most recognition from our customers.

Services: Solar Residential/Commercial Installation/Utility Scale System

We specialize in providing tailored solar power systems sales with installation. We offer very competitive pricing and timelines for our customized solutions. Find out if you’re ready to go green with our easy 5-step process:

Step 1-YOUR FREE CONSULTATION :
Take advantage of a free consultation with our Solar experts. We begin our project with an initial phone call to discuss your basic energy needs and eventually schedule an appointment at your business. Understanding your goals and conducting a site efficiency evaluation allow our team to determine which solar path is best for you and to provide you with the most cost-conscious solution for turning your home solar.

Step 2 - YOUR CUSTOMIZED SOLUTIONS
We are providers of highly-tailored, cost-conscious solar solutions. We help our clients get the most out of their solar experience in the short and the long term.
Whether you wish to go solar to save money on your electricity bills, to have a positive impact on the environment, to increase your business property value, and for any other good reasons, Our purpose is to offer you the customized solution that will meet your goals and give you the greatest return on investment.

Step 3-SIGN YOUR SIMPLY SOLAR AGREEMENT
Once your ideal solution has been identified and approved, we handle all administrative tasks, including submitting the drawn plans and obtaining the required permit from the city.
Our agreement includes a 25-year warranty on all panels and inverters, as well as a 10 year labor and roof leak warranty. We also guarantee no hidden fees and no hassle in your agreement with us.

Step 4 - GET YOUR SOLAR INSTALLATION
Our responsive expert installers ensure that going solar is as simple and convenient as possible. Depending on the size of the solar power system to install, our installation time may vary from 5 days to 2 weeks. During your scheduled installation, we make it a top priority to accommodate you and deliver the highest quality service.

Step 5- ENJOY YOUR NEW SOLAR POWER!
Once your installation is complete, you can expect a city inspection within 2 days from the installation. And, as soon as you have received Permission To Operate (PTO) from your utility company, you will be able to enjoy the clean and efficient solar power you’ve longed for!

More About Us

More About Us

If you are a home owner, a business owner or utility company looking for a green energy alternative, Solar SME, Inc. can help. Along with tax deductions and other savings, solar power is the clean, efficient energy of the future. Best of all, you'll only pay what you currently pay for electricity, or slightly less.

This page will help you to get idea about cost of your solar project.

Commonly, customers asked following questions to about the cost of their solar project:
•How much does solar energy cost?
•What is the cost of purchasing and installing solar power systems?
•How much will the right solar power system save you?
•What incentives and rebates are available?
•Which other factors one should consider besides cost?
•The list goes on...

Increase Your Return on Investment

First thing to keep in mind when is going solar is purchasing the proper solar panels and inverters for your solar project. At Solar SME, we only sell and install the best-quality US branded equipment with a 25-year warranty. Installing the best-quality equipment onto your home or business will provide you with the highest performance, increased safety, and close to no maintenance needed.

Things to Consider While Going Solar
There are many other factors that must be taken while going solar like your current electricity needs, sun exposure and peak sun hours, current home or building condition, electricity goals, etc.

Get an Accurate Quote from Solar Experts
At Solar SME, we offer free consultations, where our technical design team examine your property, discuss your solar goals, and give you the most accurate quote. Our team will come up with scientifically estimated and calculated facts and figures for your investment plan. In most cases, solar project pay for itself in less than 7 to 10 years.

If you still interesting to get an idea of your solar project, without yet scheduling your free consultation, contact us and one of our specialists will assist you.

Technology Offered

Technology Offered
  • Solar PV

Reviews from Our Community

Reviews from Our Community
21 Reviews
Write a Review
"I had great experience with them"
Reviewed Aug 27, 2019

I had great experience with them. System has met all my expectations. It's been a little more than 3 months since the installation. Some of the folks in their team may not have the best communication skills, but if you give them a chance you will notice that they try their best to please their customers. I haven't had the need to call them for service yet, hoping their service is as good as their sales and installation team.

Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 29, 2019

Hi Rkasok ,
We try our best to fulfill customer needs. We have our best team of technical installers who are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional. It is good to hear that you are satisfied with the system,Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

"Small solar installation in Dallas"
Reviewed Aug 20, 2019

I had SME install solar panels on my new town home which only had a small roof area. They were able to install 9x370W panels (commercial size). The workers were friendly and on-time and did a good job. I had a small issue since my roof was flat using TPO roofing,they were very helpful fixing a leak that developed and it has not leaked again.
Last month (August) my solar cells generated $85 worth of electricity and my bill was only $65, in the winter I will accumulate credit (based on GreenEnergy plan at $0.129/KWH)

3 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 21, 2019

Hi mikew123,

It is good to hear that you are satisfied with the system, we try our best to fulfill customer needs.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Solar SME

"Value and Professionalism"
Reviewed Aug 12, 2019

I chose Solar SME after receiving 3 other estimates. I feel that they offered the best combination of value, quality of equipment, warranty, etc. The only thing I wish had been more clear to me was the mounting brackets I assumed were removable but didn't ask. They are technically removable, but not without destroying the shingles directly underneath (it makes sense in retrospect, they have to use a strong enough sealant to keep the rain out). Also never having worked with installation of solar panels, maybe all mounting systems tear up the shingles to a certain extent? I discovered this after Oncor made them move a few panels to qualify for a rebate, but Solar SME repaired the damaged shingles. It's pretty cool getting an electric bill with a credit!!

2 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi handhwoodwork,

We have our best team of technical installers who are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Solar SME

"Excuses / Increases Price / Non-Responsive"
Reviewed Aug 06, 2019

I obtained a quote good through March 2019 for a solar system at $10,620.00. I obtained comparative bids and then went back to this company to close the deal. The quote was now several thousand more. I asked for an explanation. I was told the prior bid was "really old." I advised the company I would sign the contract at the prior bid and made concessions re: equipment. The company told me the deal was then with the supervisor to sign-off on it. The company then went silent. A complete waste of time. It seems like this might be a company that underbids to get in the door, but then finds reasons to increase the price. I would recommend caution.

12 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 21, 2019

Hi Michael,

We really apologize for the inconvenience you have faced, The prices for the products change frequently and the quote is usually valid for a specific period of time, we always try to solve our client’s concerns, and usually take strict actions in terms of our internal quality and it seems like we have dealt with the specific employee in terms of their quality.

Regards,
Solar Sme Inc.

"Love the way they look, Love that my meter is spinning backwards."
Reviewed Aug 03, 2019

I wanted to go with solar before the moron changed the tax credits, something he can't do for a few years. I vet things a lot before I buy and Solar SME has the best panels and at the time the best reviews. Now seeing how good it is everyone wants them so understandable they have more orders than they can handle. Yes it took a little longer to get them installed but when they did it was a very good job. Was also happy they handled all the red tape that one has to go through, that took some time dealing with the state= CID. One hast to be registered as a utility company in order to feed back into the lines and each electric company has it's own rules.
Now that the system is in and up and running I love seeing my meter run backwards and am looking forward to the next many years 25 guaranteed!!!
that the system will be running.
Happy to be cutting the carbon footprint. Dana.

"MY SYSTEM GOT INSTALLED WITH COMMISIOING IN JUST 4 WEEKS!"
Reviewed Jun 24, 2019

"Going solar is a big decision. Alex and the rest of the team at SOLAR SME provided us with the information we needed to make this decision.
The communication during the entire project was outstanding and the people were incredibly friendly! We are very happy with our system and have even gotten compliments on how it looks on our roof!"

2 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi nosmr2,

It is good to hear that you are satisfied with the system, Alex is one of the best Sales Rep that we have and we are happy to hear that we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Solar SME

"GLAD I CHOOSE SOLAR SME"
Reviewed Jun 18, 2019

I started my journey in solar by doing a lot of research for over a year.
I contacted almost 8 local installers in the area and was surprised that only about half got in touch with me.
Solar SME was in my top 3 but first I chose another company and was so unsatisfied with the sales and design team that I stopped working with them.
Then I have reached out to the other preference Solar SME. The whole process was wonderful. The sales staff listened to what I wanted and didn't go for the hard sell or try to sell me what they wanted in my house.
The designers were detailed oriented. Communication from the office team regarding billing, utility forms, tax paperwork, and permit application was smooth. The installation team showed up early to complete my 10KW system install in a single day. Just within one week following my install, the system was commissioned and ready to operate. Since then it is producing as per what I was guaranteed by Solar SME.

3 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi ashok_2 ,

We try our best to fulfill customer needs. We have our best team of technical installers who are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional. It is good to hear that you are satisfied with the system,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Solar SME

"Had a phone appointment......(They did not call) same as a no show"
Reviewed Jun 13, 2019

Hmmm.... don`t think i`m doing business with a company that cant even keep a phone appointment.....OK up-date company did call me one hour after the appointed time apologized for not making the appointed time. Now there giving me good service. As an Engineer I must say I`m more interested in the off set as that is the most important number as it relates to solar. I have a very good Azimuth 191 on the main roof.

3 people found this helpful
"Yet another salesperson blowing off an appointment."
Reviewed Jun 11, 2019

The review just prior to mine states the exact same thing. It appears that they keep having these same "uncommon" issues. In my case, we had an appointment tonight, which the salesperson blew off. An hour later, he called to casually and dismissively state that they had other meetings and that's why they didn't show up. Clearly their time is more important than mine, or at least more important than my $70,000. Folks, this was the world's easiest sale.

A little later, the salesman emailed: "inconvenience regretted." This must be almost like "sorry."

So, it is now the day after. Salesperson Adam called me from what sounded like a factory. He was completely unaware of anything that had transpired. He either hung up on me, or the call was dropped. He didn't call back, and nobody at the entire company answers their phones. Definitely give ALL your money to this thoroughly unprofessional business.

6 people found this helpful
"Sales Rep was very unhelpful"
Reviewed Feb 19, 2019

First, my original sales rep didn't keep the appointment that was scheduled today though I did get a call from one of his colleagues 30 minutes later. Once we settled on a new time, I got a call back from the next rep who promptly handed me off to someone else named Mike. Due to the background noise (sounded like a call center) and the heavy accent, I could barely understand what Mike was saying which made communication a chore. Once I thought we were on the same page I was trying to clarify that I don't have enough roof to hold the panels they were recommending to which Mike said they could mount the panels on the north side of the roof. Since I live in northern Michigan, the north side of my roof is just not an option; unfortunately Mike disagreed even though I requested an adjustment to the quote for a ground mount system. Rather than giving me the quote adjustment I asked for, Mike proceeded to explain how they would mount the panels HIGHER than the roofline on the north side so it could get sun...which is when I terminated the conversation. Of all of the consultants I've spoken to through EnergySage or independently this was the worst experience I've had and thought the only thing I was getting out of the conversation was where I led, not the other way around.

Regarding the original quote I received it was really competitive with other quotes which was why I was excited to talk to them. Needless to say I'm very disappointed and will caution anyone who gets a quote from Solar SME.

9 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded May 06, 2019

We are very sorry about your call experience with Solar Energy Consultant. Since then, we have integrated and trained our teams to meet higher standards to give better call experience. If you are still undecided about solar, we would appreciate another chance to earn your business. Our energy consultants would like to speak to you again. Thank You.

"Pushy salesperson won't stop calling"
Reviewed Feb 07, 2019

They provided a quote, and followed up well. But I decided to go a different direction and told them to please remove me from their contact list. Their very pushy salesperson keeps calling and calling even though I've asked multiple times to be left alone. Very annoying.

11 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded May 06, 2019

We’re sorry to hear your experience. It was an uncommon instance as we refrain from hard sell tactics. We will ensure that such instance do not occur again. Thank You.

"Great experience!"
Reviewed Jan 28, 2019

After reviewing multiple EnergySage proposals we decided to go with Solar SME because of their price point and also their positive reviews. After choosing Solar SME as the winning proposal they quickly reached out to us and walked us through the process. They responded to questions we had about the contract and worked with us on the timing and amount to be paid throughout the project. Early on the installation products we wanted to use were not readily available, so Solar SME proposed using another brand of products that were comparable in quality and price. We not only asked for a newer Phase Inverter to be installed, but were also compensated for the original materials not being available. Solar SME also took care of the permit and HOA approvals. Less than a week after both approvals, the materials were delivered to our house and installation work began. The installer was very knowledgeable and completed the work in 2 days. All wiring was routed through the attic so we didn't have galvanized tubes on the outside of the house. The result is a very clean look from the outside, which is what we wanted. The solar system has been up for about 3 weeks now and we would highly recommend Solar SME if you plan to go Solar! Also, take the time to educate yourself about the components of a Solar System and the different products that are out there, EnergySage makes it easy.

5 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi german13m ,

Thank you so much for the high recommendation of Solar SME. It definitely boosts our confidence. We are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
Regards,
Solar SME

"Glad I Chose SME Solar, Inc. to come to Amarillo, TX to Install on My Forever Home"
Reviewed Jan 23, 2019

On Price -- I checked their price against six other companies —best price.
On quality of materials -- 18 LG 330 W Panels & 18 EnPhase micro-inverters -- exceptional & I'm very very happy.
On Ease of process--most of it is automated taking little time from the buyer; the company handled the details.
On Professionalism -- the email price quote presentation was A++; I was able to double check their numbers to my satisfaction.
On dedication to the job—SME Solar, Inc. installed my array in 19F and 30mph winds weather and traveled 9.5 hours to get here the night before...it looks awesome! I am very VERY HAPPY!

3 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

It is good to hear that you selected us We know that professionalism always beats the competition and experience and dedication in the field always help. We are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

"Great product great service!"
Reviewed Nov 06, 2018

Price better than anyone I spoke to, quality of panels and equipment as good and generally better than I found elsewhere. They explained the process every step of the way. They were reliable and dependable. I have referred them to family members based on their overall efforts. I highly recommend these folks. Call Tanzeel or George. Not only will you be glad you did, but you will get a high quality system at a reasonable price from true solar professionals!

5 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

We are working in the field for decades and we know that professionalism always beat the competition We are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. It is good to hear that thanks

"Too good to be true"
Reviewed Sep 26, 2018

Did research and Solar SME seemed like the best solution- best priced/quality equipment. Got the solar installed 8 months ago after signing contracts a year ago. My energy costs have doubled since. System production is a fraction of what was quoted and I can't get any response from SME on next steps. Wish we had the option to un-do the whole thing.

20 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded May 06, 2019

We set a high standard for ourselves, and we’re so sorry to hear this was not met in your interaction with our business. Please know that your situation was an exception due to dense shading on your panels and we brought that multiples times in your consideration to have them trimmed so you can get the optimal production. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our clients. Please respond to the calls and messages of our Quality Assurance Team so they can get this resolved immediately. Thank You.

"An excellent, need to have service!"
Reviewed Sep 21, 2018

This system is very easy to use and very informative. After you invest a big chunk of money in solar panels it is reassuring to know that you are getting your moneys worth. Also, the ability to check individual panels is a great advantage. Due to this feature, I have discovered that in the early morning hours, some of my panels are shaded more than had expected, leading to the need to trim a tree in the front yard.

8 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi jwhisonant342 ,

Yes its a very good idea to trim trees which are blocking sunlight. Thank you so much for the motivation its boosts our confidence We have our best team of technical installers who are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. It is good to hear
that you are satisfied with the system,

Regards,
Solar SME

"Excellent service professional work and quality installation!!"
Reviewed Apr 24, 2018

I’ve gotten two home installed by SolarSME and they know how to get the job done. My electricity bill instantly dropped 35-55% received great incentives and now making residual income from the excess energy from the buy back program! It’s a win win!

3 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi aamirdirect ,

It is good to hear that your electricity bill instantly dropped its definitely a win-win situation. We are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Regards
Solar SME

"11.3 KW Solar Array with Inverter"
Reviewed Apr 03, 2018

First rate Business. Very knowledgable, polite. professional, and well trained from the front office to the installers. They gave me exactly what they contracted to do. And answered all my questions completely. I couldn't be more happy with the quality of the product and the work.
Patrick Schumacher Homeowner

1 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

We are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Regards
Solar SME

"Solar PV System"
Reviewed Apr 03, 2018

Everything works well and up to mark. I am really satisfied by their services and quality of products and professional installation team.

4 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 22, 2019

Hi george ,

It definitely boosts our confidence as a professional installer because we are working professionally to achieve customer satisfaction and we have to maintain our name as a professional installer. we try our best to fulfill customer needs I really appreciate it.

Regards
Solar SME

"Great Communication"
Reviewed Mar 09, 2018

Solar SME was noticeably different from other Solar installers. Besides being very knowledgeable of the products, I was able to customize the options to fit my needs. This was very important to me. They went above and beyond to keep me informed and deliver exactly what was contracted. I highly recommend them if you want a company that will work with you through the entire process.

2 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar SME, Inc.
Responded Aug 21, 2019

Hi rahtid27,
I am happy to help you anytime and thank you so much for your feedback
I really appreciate it

Regards,
Solar SME

"Come on light statement (bill)"
Reviewed Mar 15, 2016

Only been on grid a few days. ..averaging 64.7 kws a day. .was told February was worse month and only one day was clear..I am generating at least 3 times what I am using. ..
I have 10,800 watts of Panels on the roof. ..and had a max output of 10,247 watts. ..with all rebates and grants this is definitely the answer. ...it really exceedseems my expectations. .

9 people found this helpful