Solar Advantage Primary Business

  • Installer
  • Electrical Contractor
happy couple going solar

Get Free Solar Quotes Online

Sign up to get free online quotes that include your preferred solar equipment!

Get Quotes

Solar Advantage - Profile & Reviews

  • Installer
  • Electrical Contractor

As Certified Master Electrical and Solar Contractors, we are qualified to complete all aspects of residential and commercial solar energy installations without subcontractors. Our staff are highly professional and ethical in their business dealings and workmanship. We believe in "paying it forward" both to our customers and in our God-given charge to steward our environment.

13 reviews

Write a Review
  • "Excellent Service"

    Reviewed Aug 21, 2019
    "Excellent Service"

    Reviewed Aug 21, 2019

    I had the opportunity to meet a great gentleman and a very knowledgeable service technician by the name of Anthony Cowar.
    For several months my system was down and I was unable to get the original installer to make repairs. I called the manufacturer and they your number. Within a weeks time you responded to my call and all my troubles were over.
    I commend you on the way you do business and Mr. Cowar represents your company with the greatest amount of professionalism and courteous service. I have 2 neighbors who have the same system and I informed them that if they ever have a problem, you are the company to call. I gave them your business card. I am a customer for life.
    Sincerely,
    Richard Solomon

  • "Avoid at all costs!"

    Reviewed Aug 15, 2019

    WARNING! Buyer beware!!!!

    DO NOT PUCHASE SOLAR THROUGH SOLAR ADVANTAGE!!!!

    It has been an absolute nightmare working with them. We spent $33k and were promised amazing customer service. The salesman lied to us about a lot of things, and their best response was "well, he was fired." They ignored us for 6 months following the install, and when they finally came out they said half of the system shorted immediately on install and never worked. We called them every month to tell them that there was a problem with the system, and every month they told us we were wrong. That was February. It took them from July to February to fix the system. They reimbursed us $200 for the loss in power bills based on their estimate, not based on the actual power bills. They probably owed us much more.

    Well, we just realized with all the rain that they caused significant damage resulting in water damage. They inappropriately used my lanai to get to the roof since they didn't bring a tall enough ladder. This pulled the lanai from the wall, allowing water to get in the wall. We now have mold. It was well hidden so it took this year to figure out. While they were up there they also put a hole in the lanai roof and glued a dog toy to it to cover it up. On the phone the owner Martin Clewis says it's possible that they did this, but then in email completely deny it. He even sent me a Bing map pic saying it's proof. Like really? We were going to let them sample the glue yesterday but they refused to sign a receipt for insurance purposes. I am now having to go through my home owners insurance and will have to pay a deductible. My house was built in 2012, no one else has been on my roof, no other work has been done.

    The sales manager Jason Humphrey says his guys say they were never on my roof, and their word is proof. My husband watched the install and gave them permission to use the roof. We have a very tall house and they did not bring a tall enough ladder for a portion of the project. They had a tall enough ladder during other portions, so they sent a picture of that as proof with their Bing picture. None of this is substantial proof that they did not cause damage. There is literally no chance that anything else caused this since no one else had been up there.

    They really pushed the Bing satellite picture, but that really proves nothing. It just looks white on the lanai, the lanai is dirty and has beams that you cannot see in the Bing picture. If you cannot see the dirt or the beams, you will absolutely not see a sun bleached small dog toy glued to the lanai roof.

    Avoid Solar Advantage at all costs!!!!!!!

    2 people found this helpful
  • "Unprofessional Business Practices"

    Reviewed Jun 23, 2019
    "Unprofessional Business Practices"

    Reviewed Jun 23, 2019

    A few reviews below is my customer WMeyer. I am appalled at the information I received today. They bribed Mr. Meyer to remove his honest review. Unbelievable that this company can do subpar installations and then completely ignore them. I had to personally pay for this particular installation to be fixed because I care about customer service something they severely lack. I would never consider consulting for them again.

    2 people found this helpful
    Paola Humphrey
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 25, 2019
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 25, 2019

    Everyone here at Solar Advantage holds our standards to the highest level, and Mr. Meyer was sent an apology along with a gift certificate from us for a recognized slip in those standards. No bribe, just an apology for being human. The level of communication since has been up to our standards, and Mr. Meyer has been pleased with the results.

  • "Excellent service out of the gate"

    Reviewed Jun 05, 2019
    "Excellent service out of the gate"

    Reviewed Jun 05, 2019

    We chose Solar Advantage based on their reviews and the knowledge brought to the table by the project manager, John Rumball. They helped us select the right number of panels for our house while staying in the Tier 1 classification and walked us through all the required paperwork for financing and installation through the paperwork needed by Duke Energy. The process was smooth and easy with their help. They installed on time and were very helpful in understanding the operation and monitoring.

    1 person found this helpful
    John Rumball
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019

    Dale It was a pleasure working with you on the design & installation of your 11.5kW Panasonic VBHN330SA17 panels & SolarEdge system. Thank you for your business and your 5 star review.

  • "Very poor communication"

    Reviewed May 26, 2019

    The work was done but had to move electrical wire as it was placed very poorly down the house. The Application and Compliance Form that Duke energy requests before they come out to change the meter was filled out incorrectly, causing delays. Left messages with Solar advantage but no one answers the phone. I leave messages and a day or two they get back to me. Duke Energy comes out but states Solar Advantage has to do something. I have called Solar Advantage, left messages but no call back. I would not recommend them as their communication skills are very poor. No phone receptionist. Nobody.

    Jason Humphrey
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019

    Warren, you have been tremendously helpful in identifying a flaw in our communication policy. I'm glad communication this last month has been more in line with your expectations, and I'm glad you're looking at expanding your existing system to better fit your needs. While we can't promise that will always be perfect, we will always promise that if something goes wrong, we will rise to the occasion, take action, and help resolve the issue. In this case, we've relocated wires to the desired location, updated our internal customer service policies, and have provided 3 separate points of contact to the customer to ensure they don't feel that we're unavailable. All of these issues have been resolved, and we're an even better company as a result. Have a great day.

  • "Very pleased"

    Reviewed Apr 04, 2019

    We had a couple of hurdles along the way (hoa, electric upgrade, backorder of particular panels) but they took care of every issue without charging me extra. The onsite installer did a great job, I recommend Diego in the Orlando, FL area.

    2 people found this helpful
  • "I am saving big time"

    Reviewed Mar 15, 2018

    They were slow in getting the install done, but it was done right and I am very happy. In the 10.5 months it was in operation in 2017 it produced 12,548 KWH (Near the top of the estimate) . I had one month with a very small electric bill and sold an excess of 2,619 KWH back to TECO for which I received a whopping $59.82 credit. Regardless, I saved a total of $1,062.65 in electricity charges.

    2 people found this helpful
  • "Awesome company!"

    Reviewed Aug 16, 2016

    If you want someone who knows everything about getting solar for your home and helping the lay person understand what that means and what it costs call Solar Advantage! Martin is awesome and made buying solar for our home a very easy, pleasant experience! He and his crew were prompt, efficient and reliable. We would recommend them to everyone. We cut our electric bill from $450/month to $120/month in the summer running our air conditioners(both whole house and window units) 24 hours per day! We are so happy!

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Excellent work"

    Reviewed Jul 13, 2016

    They were on time, done in time, used excellent equipment and met my needs.

    1 person found this helpful
  • "So far so good"

    Reviewed Jul 12, 2016

    The installer who worked on my panels and inverters were extremely efficient, reliable, helpful and knowledgeable. They did their job as promised and provided good follow through. So far I don't have official savings numbers to share but it appears I am saving around 25 to 30 kilowatt hours per day which estimating my last month's summer usage is at least a 50% savings and that is in peak air conditioning time. I can't wait to see the credits I should receive in the other cooler seasons.

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Solar Power Installation"

    Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

    Solar Advantage installed 42 panels on my roof in December 2015. They did an excellent job and were very easy to work with. My system is working well and providing more power than projected. I have no hesitation in recommending SolarAdvantage

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Awesome!"

    Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

    There are a few companies out there offering solar. For the most part, they use similar materials and have similar warranties, but after having a few of them come to my house, I found solar advantage to be the best. John R, one of the sales reps, sold me a solar water heater before with another company and I was fortunate enough to work with him again. Once all the materials were chosen, Martin C made sure coordination of the install went smoothly, followed up after the install was completed, and made sure I was able to monitor everything from my computer and cell phone. I just talked to Martin about adding more panels to my setup. I couldn't be happier!

  • "Electrical repair at soccer facility"

    Reviewed Sep 24, 2015
    "Electrical repair at soccer facility"

    Reviewed Sep 24, 2015

    Martin and Solar Advantage were very helpful in identifying the problem in a timely manner and responded to our needs to repair our electrical problem.
    The communication and attentiveness to the request was always timely and the result very satisfactory.
    Thank you!

    1 person found this helpful
Show All

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Based on your roof and actual offers in your area

Try Solar Calculator

As Hillsborough County's Chosen Solar Contractor for the USF Area Library
and Installers of the largest business owned commercial system in Hillsborough County (507KW), we distinguish ourselves by the excellent service we offer to our clients large and small. This is evidenced by the 5 star and A+ customer service ratings we earn on all our reviews on Google, Angie's List, Solar-Reviews.com, Yelp, Buildzoom and of course Energy Sage! Our diverse array of complete projects including Solar Car-pots, Integrated Solar Flat Roofs on-grid and battery backed-up, demonstrates our breath of expertise and skill. We don't use subcontractors, so your experience is consistent with our company training and values.

  • Installation
  • Financing
  • Electrical Contracting
  • Solar Repair & Maintenance
  • Solar PV
  • Energy Storage

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Based on your roof and actual offers in your area

Try Solar Calculator

Established

2012

Solar Advantage Headquarters

2510 Merchant Ave
Odessa, FL
33556 United States

Workmanship Warranty

10 Years

Affiliations

Florida Solar Energy Industries Association.

Certifications

NABCEP Certified PV Installer, Angie's List Super Service Award Winner 2014

Licenses

Florida Master Electrical Contractor EC13005008, EC13008809
Florida State Certified Solar Contractor CVC56937
National-Level NABCEP Certification: PV-100414-010644

Insurance

2 Million

States served by Solar Advantage

  • Florida FL