Solar Advantage Primary Business

  • Installer
  • Roofer
  • Electrical Contractor
happy couple going solar

Get Free Solar Quotes Online

Sign up to get free online quotes that include your preferred solar equipment!

Get Quotes

Solar Advantage - Profile & Reviews

  • Installer
  • Roofer
  • Electrical Contractor

As Certified Master Electrical and Solar Contractors, General Contractors and Roofers, we are qualified to complete all aspects of residential and commercial solar energy installations without subcontractors. Our staff are highly professional and ethical in their business dealings and workmanship. We believe in "paying it forward" both to our customers and in our God-given charge to steward our environment. Our company's mission statement is to "Honor God and His creation by advancing Florida's transition to solar power." Come be a part of that exciting transformation!

18 reviews

Write a Review
  • "Great Company to Work with! Extremely professional and overdelivers!"

    Reviewed Mar 25, 2020
    "Great Company to Work with! Extremely professional and overdelivers!"

    Reviewed Mar 25, 2020

    I received quotes from four different solar companies. All four of them did solar panel layout designs for my roof. Solar Advantage was the most professional across the board, and was the only company that chose a panel layout that didn't put panels in places that are shaded 50% of the day. Their estimates on costs to recuperate my investment were the most conservative, assuming a 6% annual increase in the cost of a kilowatt vs the other three companies that assumed 8%-10%. This is while also having one of the lower prices.

    My panels were just installed yesterday, and I couldn't be happier. The installation team showed-up on time, and was extremely friendly. Jay had a few questions from me as far as placement of some of the electrical components were concerned, and then they were at it putting things in place. The installation crew even took the time to explain to my kids how solar works!

    After they were done, everything was cleaned up without any trash left behind and everything put back as it was originally; or in better condition. They even cleanly removed one of our bushes (After talking with us), in order to meet code for one of the boxes.

    We're currently waiting for the inspection to be done which is scheduled for tomorrow, then we'll get our two-way meter from FPL; after that everything will be in full force. Solar Advantage has made it clear how long to expect these things to take place, and so far everything has taken significantly less than expected. As a result you can believe the dates they give you, and your actual dates will likely be better than what they say.

    I wouldn't hesitate from doing business with Solar Advantage again; and will be recommending them to all my friends.

  • "Amazing company! Top quality value and service"

    Reviewed Mar 12, 2020
    "Amazing company! Top quality value and service"

    Reviewed Mar 12, 2020

    We are so grateful for selecting Solar Advantage as our Solar provider (love those electricity non-bills now :)

    Martin and all his team are outstanding. We evaluated a few companies and know we made the right decision going with Solar Advantage.

    Overall value was great. Pricing, quality, service, follow up, attention to detail. They treat your home like their own.

    Highly recommended.

  • "11KW System works great and eliminated my bill"

    Reviewed Mar 06, 2020
    "11KW System works great and eliminated my bill"

    Reviewed Mar 06, 2020

    I love it because our bill is so low. And it survived the latest hurricane. I am helping the environment by reducing my carbon footprint.

  • "Professional and experienced company"

    Reviewed Mar 06, 2020
    "Professional and experienced company"

    Reviewed Mar 06, 2020

    From contract signature to a fast interconnection, overall great service. The whole team seemed knowledgeable and put their name behind their work. They showed me how to set up my monitoring application and made sure the install was to my liking. HIGHLY recommend.

    Katie Dunn
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to recommend us! It was a pleasure to serve you and your family this way. We love hooking people up!

  • "Solar Advantage is an Advantage!"

    Reviewed Mar 05, 2020

    I used Martin and Solar Advantage for a full solar P/E (electric not pool) install on my home. I am now saving about $250 a month in my electric bill. Really awesome not having battery bank and having a share agreement with TECO. Couldn't say enough about my experience with Solar Advantage, reliable and TOTALLY professional! Thanks so much Martin!!!!!

    Katie Dunn
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020

    Michael, great to hear from you about your savings! You are right to point out that the utility company has to allow you to use the grid to facilitate solar and the net-metering arrangement. In some states you actually need your own batteries to do solar, if you can believe it. Thanks again for the endorsement!

  • "Great Price, Great Installation!"

    Reviewed Mar 05, 2020
    "Great Price, Great Installation!"

    Reviewed Mar 05, 2020

    Solar Advantage put in a large system for my home and it has produced what I needed to take away my energy bill. I have had it for over two years now. Its good that I can monitor the production on line and they can see it too. The service Tech Anthony did a good job recently when I asked to have the system expanded (my daughter decided to buy an electric car and charge it at home!) Very Happy.

    Katie Dunn
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 06, 2020

    Thank you for the vote of confidence! We are continuing to provide our customer the best experience from beginning to even after our job is complete!

  • "Excellent Service"

    Reviewed Aug 21, 2019
    "Excellent Service"

    Reviewed Aug 21, 2019

    I had the opportunity to meet a great gentleman and a very knowledgeable service technician by the name of Anthony Cowar.
    For several months my system was down and I was unable to get the original installer to make repairs. I called the manufacturer and they your number. Within a weeks time you responded to my call and all my troubles were over.
    I commend you on the way you do business and Mr. Cowar represents your company with the greatest amount of professionalism and courteous service. I have 2 neighbors who have the same system and I informed them that if they ever have a problem, you are the company to call. I gave them your business card. I am a customer for life.
    Sincerely,
    Richard Solomon

    Martin
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 03, 2020
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 03, 2020

    Thank you Mr. Solomon. Anthony is a great technician on our staff. I can't tell you how many times we have to come in and clean up after other fly by night solar companies who promise the world, make a buck and close down. You see a lot of them on here, promising a 25 year warranty, and they have not even been around for half that time. Then you see the same owners start a new company a make a whole new round of sales and false promises.

  • "Avoid at all costs!"

    Reviewed Aug 15, 2019

    WARNING! Buyer beware!!!!

    DO NOT PUCHASE SOLAR THROUGH SOLAR ADVANTAGE!!!!

    It has been an absolute nightmare working with them. We spent $33k and were promised amazing customer service. The salesman lied to us about a lot of things, and their best response was "well, he was fired." They ignored us for 6 months following the install, and when they finally came out they said half of the system shorted immediately on install and never worked. We called them every month to tell them that there was a problem with the system, and every month they told us we were wrong. That was February. It took them from July to February to fix the system. They reimbursed us $200 for the loss in power bills based on their estimate, not based on the actual power bills. They probably owed us much more.

    Well, we just realized with all the rain that they caused significant damage resulting in water damage. They inappropriately used my lanai to get to the roof since they didn't bring a tall enough ladder. This pulled the lanai from the wall, allowing water to get in the wall. We now have mold. It was well hidden so it took this year to figure out. While they were up there they also put a hole in the lanai roof and glued a dog toy to it to cover it up. On the phone the owner Martin Clewis says it's possible that they did this, but then in email completely deny it. He even sent me a Bing map pic saying it's proof. Like really? We were going to let them sample the glue yesterday but they refused to sign a receipt for insurance purposes. I am now having to go through my home owners insurance and will have to pay a deductible. My house was built in 2012, no one else has been on my roof, no other work has been done.

    The sales manager Jason Humphrey says his guys say they were never on my roof, and their word is proof. My husband watched the install and gave them permission to use the roof. We have a very tall house and they did not bring a tall enough ladder for a portion of the project. They had a tall enough ladder during other portions, so they sent a picture of that as proof with their Bing picture. None of this is substantial proof that they did not cause damage. There is literally no chance that anything else caused this since no one else had been up there.

    They really pushed the Bing satellite picture, but that really proves nothing. It just looks white on the lanai, the lanai is dirty and has beams that you cannot see in the Bing picture. If you cannot see the dirt or the beams, you will absolutely not see a sun bleached small dog toy glued to the lanai roof.

    Avoid Solar Advantage at all costs!!!!!!!

    2 people found this helpful
    Martin
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 03, 2020
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Mar 03, 2020

    Almost a FULL YEAR after our installation, this dear client complained of a leak on her porch lanai roof. She says we put a hole in her lanai roof (which we did not access but she claims we did) and then tried to cover it up with a Dog toy using some kind of acrylic adhesive that we don't use. We flash thousands of leak-free penetrations, the right way, each year in the course of our work, why use a dog toy for that? Judge for yourself if this credible. We did not think her story believable. We continue to reach out to her to make her happy and make sure her system performs to spec.

  • "Excellent service out of the gate"

    Reviewed Jun 05, 2019
    "Excellent service out of the gate"

    Reviewed Jun 05, 2019

    We chose Solar Advantage based on their reviews and the knowledge brought to the table by the project manager, John Rumball. They helped us select the right number of panels for our house while staying in the Tier 1 classification and walked us through all the required paperwork for financing and installation through the paperwork needed by Duke Energy. The process was smooth and easy with their help. They installed on time and were very helpful in understanding the operation and monitoring.

    1 person found this helpful
    John Rumball
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019

    Dale It was a pleasure working with you on the design & installation of your 11.5kW Panasonic VBHN330SA17 panels & SolarEdge system. Thank you for your business and your 5 star review.

  • "Very poor communication"

    Reviewed May 26, 2019

    The work was done but had to move electrical wire as it was placed very poorly down the house. The Application and Compliance Form that Duke energy requests before they come out to change the meter was filled out incorrectly, causing delays. Left messages with Solar advantage but no one answers the phone. I leave messages and a day or two they get back to me. Duke Energy comes out but states Solar Advantage has to do something. I have called Solar Advantage, left messages but no call back. I would not recommend them as their communication skills are very poor. No phone receptionist. Nobody.

    Jason Humphrey
    Installer
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019
    Response from Solar Advantage
    Responded Jun 26, 2019

    Warren, you have been tremendously helpful in identifying a flaw in our communication policy. I'm glad communication this last month has been more in line with your expectations, and I'm glad you're looking at expanding your existing system to better fit your needs. While we can't promise that will always be perfect, we will always promise that if something goes wrong, we will rise to the occasion, take action, and help resolve the issue. In this case, we've relocated wires to the desired location, updated our internal customer service policies, and have provided 3 separate points of contact to the customer to ensure they don't feel that we're unavailable. All of these issues have been resolved, and we're an even better company as a result. Have a great day.

  • "Very pleased"

    Reviewed Apr 04, 2019

    We had a couple of hurdles along the way (hoa, electric upgrade, backorder of particular panels) but they took care of every issue without charging me extra. The onsite installer did a great job, I recommend Diego in the Orlando, FL area.

    2 people found this helpful
  • "I am saving big time"

    Reviewed Mar 15, 2018

    They were slow in getting the install done, but it was done right and I am very happy. In the 10.5 months it was in operation in 2017 it produced 12,548 KWH (Near the top of the estimate) . I had one month with a very small electric bill and sold an excess of 2,619 KWH back to TECO for which I received a whopping $59.82 credit. Regardless, I saved a total of $1,062.65 in electricity charges.

    2 people found this helpful
  • "Awesome company!"

    Reviewed Aug 16, 2016

    If you want someone who knows everything about getting solar for your home and helping the lay person understand what that means and what it costs call Solar Advantage! Martin is awesome and made buying solar for our home a very easy, pleasant experience! He and his crew were prompt, efficient and reliable. We would recommend them to everyone. We cut our electric bill from $450/month to $120/month in the summer running our air conditioners(both whole house and window units) 24 hours per day! We are so happy!

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Excellent work"

    Reviewed Jul 13, 2016

    They were on time, done in time, used excellent equipment and met my needs.

    1 person found this helpful
  • "So far so good"

    Reviewed Jul 12, 2016

    The installer who worked on my panels and inverters were extremely efficient, reliable, helpful and knowledgeable. They did their job as promised and provided good follow through. So far I don't have official savings numbers to share but it appears I am saving around 25 to 30 kilowatt hours per day which estimating my last month's summer usage is at least a 50% savings and that is in peak air conditioning time. I can't wait to see the credits I should receive in the other cooler seasons.

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Solar Power Installation"

    Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

    Solar Advantage installed 42 panels on my roof in December 2015. They did an excellent job and were very easy to work with. My system is working well and providing more power than projected. I have no hesitation in recommending SolarAdvantage

    1 person found this helpful
  • "Awesome!"

    Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

    There are a few companies out there offering solar. For the most part, they use similar materials and have similar warranties, but after having a few of them come to my house, I found solar advantage to be the best. John R, one of the sales reps, sold me a solar water heater before with another company and I was fortunate enough to work with him again. Once all the materials were chosen, Martin C made sure coordination of the install went smoothly, followed up after the install was completed, and made sure I was able to monitor everything from my computer and cell phone. I just talked to Martin about adding more panels to my setup. I couldn't be happier!

  • "Electrical repair at soccer facility"

    Reviewed Sep 24, 2015
    "Electrical repair at soccer facility"

    Reviewed Sep 24, 2015

    Martin and Solar Advantage were very helpful in identifying the problem in a timely manner and responded to our needs to repair our electrical problem.
    The communication and attentiveness to the request was always timely and the result very satisfactory.
    Thank you!

    1 person found this helpful
Show All

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Based on your roof and actual offers in your area

Try Solar Calculator

We are a vertically integrated Solar, Electric, Roofing and General Contracting company specializing in solar PV installations from large industrial to small residential systems. As one of the oldest PV Solar Installers in Florida, and Installers of the largest business owned commercial system in Hillsborough County (507KW), we distinguish ourselves by the excellent service we offer to our clients large and small. Our diverse array of complete projects including Solar Car-pots, Integrated Solar Flat Roofs on-grid and battery backed-up, demonstrates our breath of expertise and skill. We don't use subcontractors, so your experience is consistent with our company training and values.

  • Installation
  • Financing
  • Energy Auditing
  • Construction
  • Roofing
  • Electrical Contracting
  • General Contracting
  • Solar Repair & Maintenance
  • Community Solar
  • Energy Efficiency
  • Solar PV
  • Energy Storage

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Get a custom solar estimate for your home

Based on your roof and actual offers in your area

Try Solar Calculator

Established

2012

Solar Advantage Headquarters

2510 Merchant Ave
Odessa, FL
33556 United States

Workmanship Warranty

25 Year Limited Warranty on Roof attachments, Modules, and Labor.

Affiliations

Florida Solar Energy Industries Association.

Certifications

NABCEP Certified PV Installer, Angie's List Super Service Award Winner 2014

Licenses

National-Level NABCEP Certification: PV-100414-010644
Florida Master Electrical Contractor EC13008809
Florida State Certified Solar Contractor CVC56937
State Certified General Contractor CGC1508177
State Certified Roofing Contractor CCC1326211

Insurance

2 Million

States served by Solar Advantage

  • Florida FL