Solar Advantage - Profile & Reviews

Primary Lines of Business

  • Installer

  • Electrical Contractor

Solar Advantage - Profile & Reviews

Primary Lines of Business

  • Installer

  • Electrical Contractor

Additional Services Offered

Additional Services Offered
  • Installation
  • Financing
  • Electrical Contracting
  • Solar Repair & Maintenance

Why Work With Us

Why Work With Us

As Hillsborough County's Chosen Solar Contractor for the USF Area Library
and Installers of the largest business owned commercial system in Hillsborough County (507KW), we distinguish ourselves by the excellent service we offer to our clients large and small. This is evidenced by the 5 star and A+ customer service ratings we earn on all our reviews on Google, Angie's List, Solar-Reviews.com, Yelp, Buildzoom and of course Energy Sage! Our diverse array of complete projects including Solar Car-pots, Integrated Solar Flat Roofs on-grid and battery backed-up, demonstrates our breath of expertise and skill. We don't use subcontractors, so your experience is consistent with our company training and values.

More About Us

More About Us

As Certified Master Electrical and Solar Contractors, we are qualified to complete all aspects of residential and commercial solar energy installations without subcontractors. Our staff are highly professional and ethical in their business dealings and workmanship. We believe in "paying it forward" both to our customers and in our God-given charge to steward our environment.

Technology Offered

Technology Offered
  • Solar PV
  • Energy Storage

Reviews from Our Community

Reviews from Our Community
11 Reviews
Write a Review
"Unprofessional Business Practices"
Reviewed Jun 23, 2019

A few reviews below is my customer WMeyer. I am appalled at the information I received today. They bribed Mr. Meyer to remove his honest review. Unbelievable that this company can do subpar installations and then completely ignore them. I had to personally pay for this particular installation to be fixed because I care about customer service something they severely lack. I would never consider consulting for them again.

Verified Installer
Response from Solar Advantage
Responded Jun 25, 2019

Everyone here at Solar Advantage holds our standards to the highest level, and Mr. Meyer was sent an apology along with a gift certificate from us for a recognized slip in those standards. No bribe, just an apology for being human. The level of communication since has been up to our standards, and Mr. Meyer has been pleased with the results.

"Excellent service out of the gate"
Reviewed Jun 05, 2019

We chose Solar Advantage based on their reviews and the knowledge brought to the table by the project manager, John Rumball. They helped us select the right number of panels for our house while staying in the Tier 1 classification and walked us through all the required paperwork for financing and installation through the paperwork needed by Duke Energy. The process was smooth and easy with their help. They installed on time and were very helpful in understanding the operation and monitoring.

1 people found this helpful
Verified Installer
Response from Solar Advantage
Responded Jun 26, 2019

Dale It was a pleasure working with you on the design & installation of your 11.5kW Panasonic VBHN330SA17 panels & SolarEdge system. Thank you for your business and your 5 star review.

"Very poor communication"
Reviewed May 26, 2019

The work was done but had to move electrical wire as it was placed very poorly down the house. The Application and Compliance Form that Duke energy requests before they come out to change the meter was filled out incorrectly, causing delays. Left messages with Solar advantage but no one answers the phone. I leave messages and a day or two they get back to me. Duke Energy comes out but states Solar Advantage has to do something. I have called Solar Advantage, left messages but no call back. I would not recommend them as their communication skills are very poor. No phone receptionist. Nobody.

Verified Installer
Response from Solar Advantage
Responded Jun 26, 2019

Warren, you have been tremendously helpful in identifying a flaw in our communication policy. I'm glad communication this last month has been more in line with your expectations, and I'm glad you're looking at expanding your existing system to better fit your needs. While we can't promise that will always be perfect, we will always promise that if something goes wrong, we will rise to the occasion, take action, and help resolve the issue. In this case, we've relocated wires to the desired location, updated our internal customer service policies, and have provided 3 separate points of contact to the customer to ensure they don't feel that we're unavailable. All of these issues have been resolved, and we're an even better company as a result. Have a great day.

"Very pleased"
Reviewed Apr 04, 2019

We had a couple of hurdles along the way (hoa, electric upgrade, backorder of particular panels) but they took care of every issue without charging me extra. The onsite installer did a great job, I recommend Diego in the Orlando, FL area.

1 people found this helpful
"I am saving big time"
Reviewed Mar 15, 2018

They were slow in getting the install done, but it was done right and I am very happy. In the 10.5 months it was in operation in 2017 it produced 12,548 KWH (Near the top of the estimate) . I had one month with a very small electric bill and sold an excess of 2,619 KWH back to TECO for which I received a whopping $59.82 credit. Regardless, I saved a total of $1,062.65 in electricity charges.

1 people found this helpful
"Awesome company!"
Reviewed Aug 16, 2016

If you want someone who knows everything about getting solar for your home and helping the lay person understand what that means and what it costs call Solar Advantage! Martin is awesome and made buying solar for our home a very easy, pleasant experience! He and his crew were prompt, efficient and reliable. We would recommend them to everyone. We cut our electric bill from $450/month to $120/month in the summer running our air conditioners(both whole house and window units) 24 hours per day! We are so happy!

"Excellent work"
Reviewed Jul 13, 2016

They were on time, done in time, used excellent equipment and met my needs.

1 people found this helpful
"So far so good"
Reviewed Jul 12, 2016

The installer who worked on my panels and inverters were extremely efficient, reliable, helpful and knowledgeable. They did their job as promised and provided good follow through. So far I don't have official savings numbers to share but it appears I am saving around 25 to 30 kilowatt hours per day which estimating my last month's summer usage is at least a 50% savings and that is in peak air conditioning time. I can't wait to see the credits I should receive in the other cooler seasons.

1 people found this helpful
"Solar Power Installation"
Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

Solar Advantage installed 42 panels on my roof in December 2015. They did an excellent job and were very easy to work with. My system is working well and providing more power than projected. I have no hesitation in recommending SolarAdvantage

1 people found this helpful
"Awesome!"
Reviewed Jul 01, 2016

There are a few companies out there offering solar. For the most part, they use similar materials and have similar warranties, but after having a few of them come to my house, I found solar advantage to be the best. John R, one of the sales reps, sold me a solar water heater before with another company and I was fortunate enough to work with him again. Once all the materials were chosen, Martin C made sure coordination of the install went smoothly, followed up after the install was completed, and made sure I was able to monitor everything from my computer and cell phone. I just talked to Martin about adding more panels to my setup. I couldn't be happier!

"Electrical repair at soccer facility"
Reviewed Sep 24, 2015

Martin and Solar Advantage were very helpful in identifying the problem in a timely manner and responded to our needs to repair our electrical problem.
The communication and attentiveness to the request was always timely and the result very satisfactory.
Thank you!

1 people found this helpful